Catalina Foothills High School Logo

4300 E. Sunrise Drive, Tucson Arizona 85718
Phone number: 520-209-8300 | Fax: 520-209-8520
Attendance Line: 520-209-8318
Counseling Office 520-209-8305
Health Office: 520-209-8304
Athletics Office: 520-209-8412
Registrar: 520-209-8385
School Code: 030476

Ms. Jody Brase
Principal

Horizontal Blue Bar

YouTube Facebook Twitter



World Languages

Welcome

StudentVUE/ParentVUE

Our Mission

The spirit and intent for World Languages education in the Catalina Foothills School District revolves around what takes place in the learning environment. The goal of communicative-based language instruction is to prepare students for authentic language use in the real world. Therefore, the organization of curriculum, instruction, and assessment must reflect that goal. As world languages teachers in CFSD incorporate the core values, professional practices, and knowledge of how children best learn languages into their teaching, educators and parents will see:


Puzzle Pieces describing World Language Classrooms

  • Student-centered classrooms with clearly articulated communicative, cultural, and 21st century skills learning goals in each lesson.
  • Students actively engaged in authentic, motivating, and cognitively challenging activities.
  • Students and teacher using the target language as the principal means of communication.
  • Students actively using language for meaningful communication rather than memorizing vocabulary lists and analyzing grammatical concepts.
  • Students and teacher using verbal and non-verbal strategies to communicate and understand in order to avoid the use of translation.
  • Students using authentic materials, resources, and available technologies to develop real world language and cultural competencies.
  • Students being assessed by a variety of assessment strategies with multiple opportunities to demonstrate linguistic and cultural performance.

Our Faculty

NameEmailPhoneWebsites
Gordon, Daviddgordon@cfsd16.org209-8443View My Website
Lopez Garcia, Maria del Carmenmlopezgarcia@cfsd16.org209-8444View My Website
Ma, Jingjma@cfsd16.org209-8442View My Website
Olmstead, Scottsolmstead@cfsd16.org209-8438View My Website
Peters, Elizabethepeters@cfsd16.org209-8434View My Website
Smith, Cristiannecsmith@cfsd16.org209-8440View My Website
Somoza, Erikaesomoza@cfsd16.org209-8433View My Website
Somoza, Ivana isomoza@cfsd16.org209-8439View My Website

WEB ACCESSIBILITY

CFSD is committed to making its website accessible to the widest possible audience, including individuals with disabilities.

Should any user have difficulty accessing the content of this site, please see Web Accessibility Guidelines for assistance.